Metallica single announces big tour and new album

'Lux Æterna' headlines the band's first record in 6 years, before touring North America and Europe.

Dec 8, 2022 - 18:06
 0  149
Metallica single announces big tour and new album

Metallica is returning in 2023 with a new album and tour, and they've released a new song called "Lux Aeterna".

The album "72 Seasons," produced by Greg Fidelman, James Hetfield, and Lars Ulrich, will be released on April 14, next year.

Their tour dates begin that same month in Europe, followed by a run of gigs in North America later in the year. In 2024, additional seats are planned for Europe and America. The tour comprises two gigs in each location, with completely distinct setlists and supporting bands at each.

Hetfield explains the album's title in a press release: "72 Seasons. Our true or false selves are formed during the first 18 years of our existence. The idea that our parents taught us "who we are." Fighting over what type of personality we have is possible.

The most intriguing aspect of this, in our opinion, is the ongoing investigation of those underlying ideas and how they shape our current vision of the world. Much of our adult experience is a reconstruction or reaction to our childhood experiences. "Do we remain childhood prisoners, or do we break free from the chains we wear?"

"72 Seasons" follows "Hardwired...To Self-Destruct" by more than six years. Since then, they've republished several classics, released a second live album with the San Francisco Symphony, commissioned a cover album with Phoebe Bridgers and Kamasi Washington, and charted with "Master of Puppets" after appearing on "Stranger Things."

"72 Seasons" tracklist:

01 72 Seasons
02 Shadows Follow
03 Screaming Suicide
04 Sleepwalk My Life Away
05 You Must Burn!
06 Lux Æterna
07 Crown of Barbed Wire
08 Chasing Light
09 If Darkness Had a Son
10 Too Far Gone?
11 Room of Mirrors
12 Inamorata

Post by Bryan C.