Everything about the first Oscar award - History

It was held on May 16, 1929, at the Roosevelt Hotel in Hollywood.

Jan 27, 2023 - 13:36
 0  65
Everything about the first Oscar award - History

It was held on May 16, 1929, at the Roosevelt Hotel in Hollywood.

Today, Oscar is the official name for the American Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' most coveted award in the world of film.

There was no suspense at the first Oscar ceremony because the winners were known three months in advance. In the initial years, films that had been shown in the previous 12 months, from July 1 to June 30, were eligible to compete. The category comprised films shown in theatres in the previous 17 months of 1932/1933.

The prize was granted only by the Academy's most influential members for the first two years, and then by all members in 1929 and 1930. In 1937, around 15,000 film industry personnel voted, although nominations were announced by academy members. The Academy has been deliberating on nominees and awards since 1957.

The procedure of awarding has not altered much since then: Academy members, each in their own category, decide on the five Oscar nominations by secret vote and then choose between the nominees and the winner. All votes are kept private. Nominations are usually announced around a month before the winners. Because there were more than five nominees for the award in several categories in the early awards, the number of film categories for the award rose over time.

For the first several years, the Oscars received little attention from the public or the media. The event was originally televised live on television in 1953, then in color in 1966.

The prize presentation event is one of the most prestigious and glamorous in the world. It is also the oldest media award ceremony, and it inspired the creation of many other award ceremonies, including the Grammys (for music), the Golden Globes (for all kinds of visual media), the Tonys (for theater), and the Emmys (for television).

On May 16, 1929, the first Academy Awards ceremony took place at a special luncheon at the Roosevelt Hotel in Hollywood, celebrating exceptional film achievements from 1927 to 1928. Douglas Fairbanks and filmmaker William de Mille hosted the ceremony. The victors were announced three months before the formal win, however, this was changed at a year-later ceremony.

Since then, and for the first ten years, the results have been published in newspapers at 11 p.m. the night before the award. This system was employed until the Los Angeles Times announced the winners' names before to the ceremony. This is why, since 1941, the Academy has employed sealed envelopes to prevent the names of winners from being exposed.

The German actor Emil Jannings (spelled Jennings) was named Best Actor for his appearances in the films "The Last Commandment" and "The Way of the Living." Because the actor needed to return to Europe before the event, the Academy agreed to give him the prize early, making him the first Oscar winner in history. The procedure was revised beginning with the fourth presentation, so artists were only honored in special categories for one film.

Janet Gaynor was the first actress in history to get the Golden Statuette for Best Lead Actress. She was also the only actress to obtain this award for the portrayal of characters in three different films: "Seventh Heaven" and "Sunrise" in 1927, and "Street Angel" the following year.

"Wings" was the first picture to win an Oscar. It was a silent American film from 1927. William A. Wellman directed the film, which starred Clara Bow, Charles Rogers, and Richard Arlen. Gary Cooper had a modest but noteworthy role in this picture, which helped him break into Hollywood.

By the 82nd Academy Awards in 2010, a total of 2,789 Oscars had been given out, with 302 actors receiving the honor. The Best Foreign Language Film category was introduced at the 29th ceremony, held on March 27, 1957. Previously, such accomplishments were recognized with the Special Achievement Award.

Post by Bryan C.